Mar' 2022

Department of EEE organizes a three- day STTP on Recent Trends in Electric Vehicle Technology (RTEVT 2022)

The Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE) organized a three-day Short Term Training Program (STTP) on Recent Trends in Electric Vehicle Technology (RTEVT 2022), in association with IEEE Bhubaneswar Sub-section PES and IES Chapter, from 15 to 17 March 2022. The event was held in the online mode.

The objective of the STTP was to explore the scope, inculcate interest and improve research on electric/ hybrid vehicles in India. The program enlightened the participants about the existing electric/hybrid vehicle technology, its future market trends, opportunities and challenges.

The STTP had distinguished speakers from reputed universities from India and abroad as well as consulting companies. Mr. Nanda Kishore Panda, Research Scholar from Delft University of Technology, Netherlands deliberated on the topic ‘Electric Vehicles – A bane or boon to the grid’s infrastructure’. Dr. Dipankar Debnath, Assistant Professor, at IIT Kharagpur, spoke on the topic ‘Introduction to EV and its power converter requirement’, Dr. P. Chandrasekhar, Assistant Professor at IIT Bhubaneswar presented the topic ‘Electric vehicle topologies and their control’, and Dr. Ritesh Keshri, Assistant Professor at Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology (VNIT), Nagpur discussed about ‘Electric Vehicle Charging and Grid Interaction’. Dr. Chandrasekhar Reddy Atla, Principal Engineer, Power Research & Development Consultants (PRDC), Bengaluru deliberated on the topic ‘Grid Balancing with e-Mobility’.

Dr Rabi Narayan Mishra, convener of the STTP and HoD of the EEE department, concluded the program with his closing remarks and vote of thanks.

A total of 124 participants from industry and academia attended the program from India and abroad, including participants from NIT Meghalaya, NIT Warangal, Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT), Puducherry Technological University, Woosong University, South Korea, TPCODL, WIPRO, etc.