Sep' 2022

Department of EEE organizes an AICTE sponsored FDP on ‘Integration of Sustainable Energy into Micro Grid and its Control’

The Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE) organized a two-week ATAL (AICTE Training and Learning Academy) FDP on ‘Integration of Sustainable Energy into Micro Grid and its Control’ (ISEMC 2022) from 29 August 2022 to 9 September 2022 in the hybrid mode.

The objective of this Faculty Development Program (FDP) was to emphasize the different aspects of the available sustainable energy and its integration into existing grids.  The concept of wind and solar plants along with its control techniques were also discussed in the FDP. ISEMC 2022 also inculcated many new ideas towards electric vehicles and its challenges.

The first week of the FDP was conducted online via the ZOOM platform and consisted of six sessions. Mr. Jayant Sinha, Senior Consultant from Energy Utilities, Delhi, Dr. Ullash Kumar Rout from OUTR (Orissa University of Technology and Research), Bhubaneswar, Dr. Prakash Kumar Hota from VSSUT (Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology), Burla and Dr. Sudipta Chakraborty from NIT (National Institute of Technology), Silchar conducted the online sessions.

One session each on Research Methodology and Stress Management was also conducted as per AICTE mandate. Thesession on Research Methodology was chaired by our Principal, Dr. Jaideep Talukdar and the session on Stress Management was conducted by Dr. Saswati Jena, Assistant Professor, SiliconTech.

The second week of FDP was conducted in the offline mode at the SiliconTech campus and comprised of eight sessions. The inaugural session was held on 3 September 2022. Dr. Saroj Kanta Mishra, our Director, addressed the delegates and emphasized the importance of sustainable energy. Our Principal, Dr. Jaideep Talukdar delivered the welcome address. Dr. Rabi Narayan Mishra, Associate Professor, Department of EEE announced all the rules and regulations of the ATAL FDP.

Dr. Ram Prasad Panda, Professor, SiliconTech,Dr. K. B. Mohanty, NIT, Rourkela, Dr. Pravat Kumar Rout, Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA) Deemed to be University, Bhubaneswar, Dr. Saroj Kanta Mishra, Professor, SiliconTech, Dr. Raseswari Pradhan VSSUT, Burla, Dr. P. K. Pattanaik, OPTCL (Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited), Bhubaneswar and Mr. A. K Tripathy, CPRI (Central Power Research Institute) conducted the offline sessions. There was a hands-on session on MATLAB conducted by Dr. Raseswari Pradhan.

The participants visited SiliconTech’s solar roof top power plant facility and also went on an industrial visit to Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL) to explore the GIS (Geographic Information System).

Various activities were done by the participants individually and in groups. 50 faculty members attended this FDP. 16 lucky participants chosen at random got the book entitled ‘Renewable Energy Sources and Emerging Technologies’  by D.P. Kothari, K.C. Singal and Rakesh Ranjan.

Dr. Ramaprasad Panda and Dr. Priyanka Kar concluded the program with closing remarks and vote of thanks.

ISEMC 2022 was the first ATAL FDP organized by the department of EEE.