Dec' 2023

SiliconTech organizes an AICTE sponsored Faculty Development Program on ‘Nanotechnology and Embedded Systems’

The Department of Electronics Engineering (EE) organized an ATAL (AICTE Training and Learning) sponsored Faculty Development Program (FDP) on Nanotechnology and Embedded Systems from 18 to 23 December 2023.

The objective of the FDP was to create awareness of the recent advances in solid-state devices, VLSI circuits, and embedded systems. It aimed at promoting research directions and creating awareness about state-of-the-art technologies in the field of nanodevices, integrated circuits, and embedded systems.

The inaugural session of the FDP began with a welcome address by Dr. Saroj Kanta Misra, our Director. Dr. Jaideep Talukdar, our Principal shared about the milestones achieved by our institute and the prospects of future growth with the audience. Dr. Angsuman Sarkar, Professor & Head of the Department of Electronics at Communication Engineering (ECE) at Kalyani Government Engineering College, West Bengal graced the FDP as the Chief Guest. Dr. Debashis De, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology (MAKAUT), West Bengal was the Guest of Honor of the FDP. Dr. Biswajit Baral, coordinator of the event shared the objectives of the FDP. The session ended with the vote of thanks proposed by Dr. Pradipta Jena, co-coordinator of the FDP.

The FDP featured keynote lectures by eminent speakers from leading universities and semiconductor companies. The expert speakers comprised of Dr. Angsuman Sarkar, Dr. Debashis De, and Dr. Ajit Panda, a BOYSCAST fellow with a post-doctorate from the University of Michigan. Dr. Panda has established the VVDN Centre at Bhubaneswar where more than a hundred engineers are working now. Other eminent speakers included Dr. Saroj Rout, Adjunct Professor in Electronics Engineering, and chief mentor of the advanced VLSI laboratory at SiliconTech, Mr. Pradyut Kumar Biswal, Assistant Professor at International Institute of Information Technology, Bhubaneswar, Dr. Umakanta Nanda, Associate Professor at Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT), Andhra Pradesh, Dr. Guru Prasad Mishra, Associate Professor at National Institute of Technology (NIT), Raipur, Dr. Biswajit Baral, Associate Professor at SiliconTech, Dr. Ambarish Gajendra Mohapatra, Associate Professor at SiliconTech and Dr. Sudhansu Mohan Biswal, Associate Professor at SiliconTech.

There were multiple hands-on training sessions for participants to enhance their skills, acquire knowledge, and bridge the gap in the latest domains.

A total of fifty seven faculty members actively participated in the FDP. The FDP succeeded in creating awareness about the recent advances in solid-state devices, VLSI circuits, and embedded systems. The hands-on practice sessions were a great source of knowledge and experience for the participants.