Dec' 2023

SiliconTech organizes ‘Silicon Cup 2023’, the 14th inter-college sports meet

SiliconTech organized ‘Silicon Cup 2023’, the 14th inter-college sports meet from 28 November – 1 December 2023 at SunDeck, the sports complex of the institute.

The objective of the sports meet was to provide a platform for participants to showcase their sporting talents and build lasting friendships. Through diverse athletic events, the event promoted a culture of teamwork, discipline, and fair play, contributing to the holistic development of the students.

The sports meet was inaugurated on 28 November 2023 in the presence of Dr. Saroj Kanta Misra, our Director, Dr. Jaideep Talukdar, our Principal, and Dr. Ramaprasad Panda, Dean of Administration & Student Affairs. All the participants from various colleges across the state exchanged greetings and best wishes during the inauguration.

Students competed for the Silicon Cup in various sports including Volleyball (Boys), Basketball (Boys & Girls), Football(Boys), and Badminton (Boys & Girls). These matches took place on the Volleyball court, Basketball court, Football ground, and Badminton court of the SunDeck respectively. During the four days of this sports meet, all the games were played simultaneously in the evening, in the respective courts or grounds.

External referees were invited to judge the different matches. All the matches were supervised and coordinated by Dr. Subhakanta Dash, Faculty in Charge of Silicon Students Council, and Mr. Gyana Ranjan Biswal, Faculty Coordinator of Silicon Sports Club.

The sports meet concluded on 1 December 2023 with the prize distribution ceremony. Dr. Ramaprasad Panda congratulated all the participants and shared some inspiring words about the importance of sports and sportsmanship in our lives. The winners and runners-up of the various matches were awarded prizesby Mr. Ramesh Chandra Bisoi, ACP, Zone-6, Bhubaneswar, our Chief Guest, Mr. Nitai Gaur Dhall, our Trustee, Dr. Saroj Kanta Misra, andDr. Ramaprasad Panda.

The winners and runners-up of the Basketball (Boys) tournament were the teams from Silicon Institute of Technology, Bhubaneswar, and Sri Sri University, Cuttack respectively. In Basketball (Girls), Xavier Institute of Management (XIM) University, Puri emerged as the winner and Ravenshaw University became the runners-up. The Volleyball (Boys) championship was won by Odisha University of Agriculture & Technology (OUAT), Bhubaneswar. In Football (Boys), C.V. Raman Global University, Bhubaneswar, and Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar were the winners and runners-up respectively. Badminton (Boys) singles and doubles were won by Centurion Institute of Technology and Management, Bhubaneswar, and CGU, Bhubaneswar, respectively. The runners-up in singles and doubles were XIM University and SiliconTech respectively. Teams from SiliconTech were the winners and runners-up in both Badminton (Girls) singles and doubles.